Bahrain Grand Prix - Sakhir, 04/21/2013

Bahrain Grand Prix

Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

In 2004 the Formula One Championship came for the first time to the Middle East, on the Bahrain International Circuit, where the Bahrain was held. Just outside the country’s capital Al Manamah in a desert-like area, the circuit, designed by Hermann Tilke, distinguishes itself by its architecture, which is a interpretation of Bedouin tents from the desert. Due to its location the sand, brought onto the track by the winds from the desert, is one of the technical problems here, although at the border of the track a special substance is used to collect the sand. The track offers two long straights followed by tight corners. This layout demands excellent traction during braking, while the vast run-off areas with tarmac encourage the drivers to overtaking. Another challenge is for drivers and cars alike is the high temperatures. Respecting the prohibition of alcohol in Muslim countries on the podium of Sakhir the drivers don’t use Champagne during the prize-giving, but an non-alcoholic drink called Waard.

Keep an eye on
The first bend after the long main-straight. It’s a tight corner, good for overtaking on the inside. The tight corner no.10 is difficult to interpret: with a blind turn-in-point, the drivers arrive downhill braking, risking blocking the left front wheel. In case of wind the cars might easily come off the track and spin.

Did you know that
Out of eight Bahrain GPs held (in 2011 the event was cancelled following protests of the so called Arab Spring) the Scuderia Ferrari won half of the races: after a one-two win with Schumacher-Barrichello at the first edition in 2004, Felipe Massa crossed the line first in 2007, repeating his success in 2008, followed by his teammate Kimi Raikkonen in second place. In the year 2010, when Formula 1 for the first and last time used the circuit’s Endurance Track layout, the Scuderia conquered another one-two win: this time with Fernando Alonso in his first race with the Scuderia followed by Massa.

See what happened last year ->

  • Victories

    1. 2004 SchumacherF2004
    2. 2007 MassaF2007
    3. 2008 MassaF2008
    4. 2010 AlonsoF10
  • Pole Positions

    1. 2004 SchumacherF2004
    2. 2006 Schumacher248 F1
    3. 2007 MassaF2007
  • Race best laps

    1. 2004 SchumacherF2004
    2. 2007 MassaF2007
    3. 2010 AlonsoF10
  • Podiums

    1. First place:4 times
    2. Second place:4 times
    3. Third place:1 time
  • Hall of Honours

    1. 2004 M. SchumacherFERRARI
    2. 2005 F. AlonsoRENAULT
    3. 2006 F. AlonsoRENAULT
    4. 2007 F. MassaFERRARI
    5. 2008 F. MassaFERRARI
    6. 2009 J. ButtonBRAWN-MERCEDES
    7. 2010 F. AlonsoFERRARI
    8. 2012 S. VettelRED BULL-RENAULT

Updated at the end of season 2012

Felipe Massa

Bahrain GP – New parts in the sun

Sakhir, 19 April –The tenth edition of the Bahrain Grand Prix weekend started off with a one-two for Ferrari. After winning in Shanghai
Fernando Alonso

Alonso’s ten pearls

Maranello, 17 April –Famous Italian pop singer Lucio Battisti might have settled for ten girls in his 1969 song, but there’s no way Fernando…