Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai, 04/14/2013

Chinese Grand Prix

Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai

China, the most populous nation and second economical power in the world has been hosting the Formula World Championship since 2004. The Chinese GP is held at the Shanghai International Circuit, another race track planned by Hermann Tilke. 30 kilometres from the Shanghai city centre, it is the biggest structure of its kind in the world, which cost almost 450 Million Dollars. The majestic architecture is the business card of the Shanghai International Circuit: a vast paddock, with offices for the teams created like houses on stilts on a lake, while the control tower has a whole nine floors with two structures, which look like a spaceship, spanning the track: one with the press centre, the other one with the hospitality areas. The track with a layout like the Chinese letter “shàng” offers nine right-hand and seven left-hand bends as well as the longest straight in the F1 Championship with 1,300 metres.

Keep an eye on
The first corners can be considered one long blind right-hand corner, rolling itself up: the single-seaters arrive with an open throttle in seventh gear, coming out in second. The fastest bend, no. 13, is slightly inclined, leading to higher loads on the tyres, accelerating towards the straight: coming well out of this corner means having a good possibility of overtaking during the braking into the following bend.

Did you know that
The honour of the first victory on Chinese territory went to Ferrari with Rubens Barrichello crossing the line first in 2004. In 2006 Michael Schumacher celebrated his last win in China behind the wheel of a Ferrari. At the end of the season the German driver retired. In the following year Kimi Raikkonen crossed the line first, with Felipe Massa third. Thanks to the win in China, the Finnish driver was in a position to fight for the Drivers’ Title, winning it at the season’s last race in Brazil.

See what happened last year ->

  • Victories

    1. 2004 BarrichelloF2004
    2. 2006 Schumacher248 F1
    3. 2007 RaikkonenF2007
  • Pole Positions

    1. 2004 BarrichelloF2004
  • Race best laps

    1. 2004 SchumacherF2004
    2. 2007 MassaF2007
  • Podiums

    1. First place3 times
    2. Second place1 times
    3. Third place2 times
  • Hall of Honours

    1. 2004 R. BarrichelloFerrari
    2. 2005 F. AlonsoRenault
    3. 2006 M. SchumacherFerrari
    4. 2007 K. RaikkonenFerrari
    5. 2008 L. HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
    6. 2009 S. VettelRed Bull-Renault
    7. 2010 J. ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes
    8. 2011 L. HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
    9. 2012 N. RosbergMercedes

Updated at the end of season 2012

Fernando Alonso

Chinese GP – Tyres and tactics

Shanghai, 13 April – There was a time in the past when the cliché about tyres in Formula 1 was that they were round…
Fernando Alonso

Chinese GP – Top of the morning

Shanghai, 13 April – Ferrari secured a one-two on the time sheet come the end of the final free practice session for the third…
Fernando Alonso

Chinese GP – Flat out Friday

Shanghai, 12 April – Felipe Massa setting the fastest time this afternoon around the 5.451 kilometres of the Shanghai
Weichai and Ferrari: 4 years together

Weichai and Ferrari: 4 years together

Shanghai, 11th April - The four-year partnership between Weichai Power and the Scuderia Ferrari announced at the unveiling of the F138 on February 1st…