Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Yas Marina, 11/23/2014

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island

The Yas Marina circuit can be found on the artificial Yas Island. The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix has been part of the F1 Championship since 2009 with one of the most modern and advanced tracks in the world, planned by Hermann Tilke with the clear objective to include as many typical characteristics in this track as possible. The result are 5,554 metres – driven counter-clockwise – with long straights, fast sections, changes of direction, with a narrow and windy section just like a city circuit. The track offers a total of 212 bends. The presence of the marina is not exclusive to this circuit, but the 5-star hotel at the track definitely is. And then there is the innovative pit lane with a tunnel, the teams’ air-conditioned garages and the biggest lighting system in the world, because the race starts at dusk. But there is also something else on Yas Island: the Ferrari World Abu Dhabi, the first Ferrari theme park in the world.

Keep an eye on
The bend at the end of the longest straight on the course – where the single-seaters drive for over one kilometre with a completely open throttle, reaching a top speed of 310 km/h – is the best spot to overtake, while in the following chicane the competitor can immediately reply and counterattack.

Did you know that
Despite two second places gained by Fernando Alonso in 2011 and 2012 this track is no place of happy memories for the Scuderia Ferrari: in fact in the year 2010 the Abu Dhabi GP was the last race of the season and the Spanish driver crossed the line seventh due to a error in the strategy, thus losing the World Title by only 4 points to Sebastian Vettel.

  • Victories

    1. -
  • Pole Positions

    1. -
  • Race best laps

    1. 2013 F. AlonsoF138
  • Podiums

    1. First place:-
    2. Second place:2 times
    3. Third place:-
  • Hall of Honours

    1. 2009 S. VettelRED BULL-RENAULT
    2. 2010 S. VettelRED BULL-RENAULT
    3. 2011 L. HamiltonMCLAREN-MERCEDES
    4. 2012 K. RaikkonenLOTUS-RENAULT
    5. 2013 S. VettelRED BULL-RENAULT

Updated at the end of season 2013