Chinese Grand Prix - Shanghai, 04/20/2014

Chinese Grand Prix

Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai

China, the most populous nation and second economical power in the world has been hosting the Formula World Championship since 2004. The Chinese GP is held at the Shanghai International Circuit, another race track planned by Hermann Tilke. 30 kilometres from the Shanghai city centre, it is the biggest structure of its kind in the world, which cost almost 450 Million Dollars. The majestic architecture is the business card of the Shanghai International Circuit: a vast paddock, with offices for the teams created like houses on stilts on a lake, while the control tower has a whole nine floors with two structures, which look like a spaceship, spanning the track: one with the press centre, the other one with the hospitality areas. The track with a layout like the Chinese letter “shàng” offers nine right-hand and seven left-hand bends as well as the longest straight in the F1 Championship with 1,300 metres.

Keep an eye on
The first corners can be considered one long blind right-hand corner, rolling itself up: the single-seaters arrive with an open throttle in seventh gear, coming out in second. The fastest bend, no. 13, is slightly inclined, leading to higher loads on the tyres, accelerating towards the straight: coming well out of this corner means having a good possibility of overtaking during the braking into the following bend.

Did you know that
The honour of the first victory on Chinese territory went to Ferrari with Rubens Barrichello crossing the line first in 2004. In 2006 Michael Schumacher celebrated his last win in China behind the wheel of a Ferrari. At the end of the season the German driver retired. In the following year Kimi Raikkonen crossed the line first, with Felipe Massa third. Thanks to the win in China, the Finnish driver was in a position to fight for the Drivers’ Title, winning it at the season’s last race in Brazil.

  • Victories

    1. 2004 BarrichelloF2004
    2. 2006 Schumacher248 F1
    3. 2007 RaikkonenF2007
    4. 2013 F. AlonsoF138
  • Pole Positions

    1. 2004 BarrichelloF2004
  • Race best laps

    1. 2004 SchumacherF2004
    2. 2007 MassaF2007
  • Podiums

    1. First place4 times
    2. Second place1 times
    3. Third place2 times
  • Hall of Honours

    1. 2004 R. BarrichelloFerrari
    2. 2005 F. AlonsoRenault
    3. 2006 M. SchumacherFerrari
    4. 2007 K. RaikkonenFerrari
    5. 2008 L. HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
    6. 2009 S. VettelRed Bull-Renault
    7. 2010 J. ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes
    8. 2011 L. HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes
    9. 2012 N. RosbergMercedes
    10. 2013 F. AlonsoFerrari

Updated at the end of season 2013

Fernando Alonso

Chinese GP – Best of the rest

Shanghai, 20 April – Scuderia Ferrari’s short term aim coming into this race was to be the best of the pack of teams chasing…
Chinese GP - On the attack

Chinese GP – On the attack

Shanghai, 19 April - Last year, Fernando Alonso won the Chinese Grand Prix from third on the grid on a hot and sunny day…
Kimi Raikkonen

Chinese GP – A puzzling session

Shanghai, 19 April –A puzzling session for everyone including Scuderia Ferrari as the track was damp in this third practice session, while much more…
Wallpaper - Chinese GP, free practice 2014

Wallpaper - Chinese GP, free practice 2014

Download Kimi and Fernando wallpapers realized with the Chinese GP free practice pictures.
Wallpaper - Chinese GP, qualifying 2014

Wallpaper - Chinese GP, qualifying 2014

Download Kimi and Fernando wallpapers realized with the Chinese GP qualifying pictures.