Fernando Alonso

Spanish GP – Statistics

2 the number of wins for Fernando Alonso in the Spanish Grand Prix, with the previous one coming at the wheel of a Renault in 2006. Fernando has been on the podium in 7 of the 12 races he has contested at the Catalunya circuit. Apart from the two wins, he has four seconds and one third.

5 Fernando Alonso’s start position on the grid: it’s the first time since the Spanish Grand Prix has been held at the Catalunya circuit that the winner has not started from the front two rows. Before that, just once – 1996 with Schumacher (Ferrari) – the winner was not on the front row. Michael was third on the grid on that occasion.

11 wins for Fernando Alonso in 63 races at the wheel of a Ferrari. Today’s is his second consecutive win on Spanish soil after winning last year’s European Grand Prix held in Valencia. The man from Oviedo now has 36 podium finishes for Ferrari.

32 wins for Fernando Alonso out of 203 Grand Prix starts. The Spaniard thus move ahead of Nigel Mansell on the all-time winners list, on his own in fourth: ahead of him are only Ayrton Senna on 41 wins, Alain Prost with 51 and Michael Schumacher with 91.

36 podium finishes for Felipe Massa from 125 Grand Prix starts for Ferrari. The Brazilian won the 2007 Spanish Grand Prix and was second the following year, behind his then team-mate, Kimi Raikkonen.

40 points for Ferrari in this race. Not since the 2010 Korean Grand Prix has the Scuderia brought home such a big haul, beaten only in the German Grand Prix earlier that year in Hockenheim when it scored a one-two.

221 wins for Scuderia Ferrari from 856 Grands Prix starts. Today’s is its twelfth in the Spanish Grand Prix, a race it had not won since 2008. Unusually, the three drivers on the podium are those who have given the Scuderia its last three wins in this race: Fernando today, Raikkonen in 2008, Massa in 2007.