Austrian GP



Latest news

Spielberg Circuit

The track has risen from the ashes of the old Osterreichring, but drastically shortened and modified. The steep climb to the first corner is not as long as it used to be. Then, after it peels off to the right comes a straight that joins the old track with an abrupt hairpin with a steep climb. Other major changes were made to the two left handers which lead to the Texaco Schikane. The final corner, a double apex, is now a dogleg, to allow for a decent run-off area on the outside. It’s a very short track, just 4.318 kilometres in length and requires plenty of power and traction. Ferrari has won five times in Austria: Lorenzo Bandini won on the L-shaped Zeltweg circuit in 1964, Jacky Ickx did it at the old Osterreichring, while the first to win on the new track was Eddie Irvine in 1999. Michael Schumacher was victorious in 2002 and 2003.

Turn 2
This corner is particularly demanding with an uphill braking point. It was here in 1999 that team-mates Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard collided, leaving the way clear for Eddie Irvine to win for Ferrari.

Pit lane (or finish line)
In 2003, victory came courtesy of Michael Schumacher and the pit crew displaying nerves of steel. At the pit stop, the Ferrari caught fire, but the German sat impassive in the cockpit while the mechanics put out the flames. Michael rejoined third and went on to win.

Austrian Grand Prix Historic Standings from 1964
Race wins
Pole Positions
Fastest Laps
The Track


Max speed



Circuit length
4.318 m
Lap record
K.Raikkonen 2018

Hall of fame


1964 Bandini 158
1970 Ickx 312 B
1999 Irvine F399
2002 Schumacher F2002
2003 Schumacher F2003 - GA
1974 Lauda 312 B3-74
1975 Lauda 312 T
1977 Lauda 312 T2
1983 Tambay 126 C3
2001 Schumacher F2001
2002 Barrichello F2002
2003 Schumacher F2003 - GA
2019 Leclerc SF90
1970 Regazzoni 312 B
1974 Regazzoni 312 B3-74
2002 Schumacher F2002
2003 Schumacher F2003 - GA
2018 Raikkonen SF71H