Brazilian GP

São Paulo


Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, São Paulo

This is definitely one of the most beautiful circuits on the calendar. In just 4.309 kilometres, there’s a real mix of magical slow and very high speed turns with the final straight that lends itself to overtaking thank to the braking area of the Senna esses at the end of it. Even the final corner before the straight is very important, both as a place to try an overtaking move and to build up enough speed down the straight to fend off any attacks. Further complicating life for the drivers, the weather has a few surprises in store, as it can be stifling hot and humid one moment with torrential downpours the next. The track runs anti-clockwise, which is not the norm, thus putting additional strain on the driver’s neck. Scuderia Ferrari has won ten times in Brazil, eight of them in Interlagos, the first with Niki Lauda in 1976, the last with Felipe Massa in 2008.

The Senna Esses
The entry to this double corner is usually the scene of great passing moves which start at Arquibancadas, the final corner which is taken flat. You need a fast exit from here, because you can use DRS on Reta Oposta and try a move at turn 4.

Junçao corner
This is the final braking point at Interlagos prior to accelerating flat out to the Senna Esses. That corner will always be on Felipe Massa’s mind. It was here in 2008 that Lewis Hamilton managed to pass Timo Glock on the very last lap to win the title by the skin of his teeth.

Brazillian Grand Prix Historic Standings from 1973
Race wins
Pole Positions
Fastest Laps
The Track


Max speed



Circuit length
4.309 m
Lap record
V.Bottas 2018
1976 Lauda 312 T
1977 Reutemann 312 T2
1978 Reutemann 312 T2
1989 Mansell F1-89
1990 Prost F1-90
2000 Schumacher F1-2000
2002 Schumacher F-2002
2006 Massa 248 F1
2007 Raikkonen F 2007
2008 Massa F 2008
2017 Vettel SF70H
1985 Alboreto 156-85
2001 Schumacher F2001
2003 Barrichello F2002
2004 Barrichello F2004
2006 Massa 248 F1
2007 Massa F2007
2008 Massa F2008
1974 Regazzoni 312 B3-74
1978 Reutemann 312 T2
1988 Berger F1-87/88
2000 Schumacher F1-2000
2003 Barrichello F2002
2006 Schumacher 248 F1
2007 Raikkonen F2007
2008 Massa F2008
Latest news