Chinese GP



Latest news

Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai

The Shanghai International Circuit has hosted every edition of the Chinese Grand Prix. It’s one of the new generation of circuits, designed by Hermann Tilke and is 5.451 kilometres in length. It features a mix of high-speed and right angle corners, as well as some out and out hairpins, which compel the driver to brake hard, increasing the number of passing opportunities. The hardest compromise to get right is the balance between aero downforce and top speed. Going too far either way can end up with the car struggling to stay on track or being too slow down the straights. Tyre wear is also a key factor here. Scuderia Ferrari won the maiden Chinese race, in 2004, courtesy of Rubens Barrichello, obtaining three further victories, with Michael Schumacher, Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso.

Turn 13
Leading onto a straight that’s over a kilometre long, getting through it well is vital to carry speed down the aforementioned straight and to fend off anyone attempting a DRS-enabled attack.

Turn 15 and pit lane entrance
It’s tricky, because it’s a shallow but quick turn and leads on to a section where DRS can be used. The pit lane entrance is another place where it’s easy to make a mistake, which Lewis Hamilton can attest to, after he got stuck in the gravel, which put Raikkonen back in the 2007 title fight.

Chinese Grand Prix Historic Standings from 2004
Race wins
Pole Positions
Fastest Laps
The Track


Max speed



Circuit length
5.451 m
Lap record
M.Schumacher 2004
2004 Barrichello F2004
2006 Schumacher 248 F1
2007 Raikkonen F2007
2013 F. Alonso F138
2004 Barrichello F2004
2018 Vettel SF71H
2004 Schumacher F2004
2007 Massa F2007